Best. Tomato Sauce. Ever.

Nothing like a little hyperbole to start your engines!

Anyway, I’m not going to pretend that homemade sauce will ever be equaled by a bottled sauce. (By the way, here’s my recipe.) However, if the sauce in question has the same ingredients and tastes oodles better than that average Ragu swill, well, you’ve got something special on your hands.

When, during the course of human events, one must actually used a bottled sauce, you should look for not more than seven ingredients:

1. Tomatoes (duh!)
2. Olive oil
3. Onion
4. Garlic
5. Basil
6. Salt (preferably Sea)
7. Pepper

Everything should be fresh. But, even more important is what should not be in the sauce: tomato paste. When you see this on a bottle, go home and cry. You’re better off frying up some tomatoes in olive oil with a sprinkle of Parmesan.

Personally, I’ve always been a Rao‘s man. Great sauce, no doubt. But this new one is a contender and the price is a few bucks cheaper than the big R.

It’s called Paesana Marinara and it just blew my mind.

Ciao!

7 responses to “Best. Tomato Sauce. Ever.

  1. Hey.. Hi.. sooooooooo? could ya share your best sauce recipe? Just to be fair, you can check my blog for my sauce recipe. Looking forward to it. Like your Blog!! Its good.

  2. Hi, Paul. Welcome to the site. By the time you read this response, I will have added a link to my (or rather, my mom’s) tomato sauce recipe.

    I’m on my way to your blog (dadcooks.wordpress.com) right now! Thanks again for visiting.

  3. Ooh…Rao’s is really good stuff, though. Their vodka sauce is killer. I’ll have to give this new stuff a try now. 🙂

  4. Mmmmmm, vodka sauce.

  5. Does anyone have a recipe similar to Bertucci’s Restaurant’s Plum Tomato sauce?
    Thanks!

  6. Hi, FlamingoFan. I love Bertucci’s margherita pizza, and that sauce is especially good. Unfortunately, I can’t find the exact recipe either.

    If I remember correctly, it’s kind of chunky, so I would modify my tomato sauce recipe by NOT putting the tomatoes through the food mill.

    Also, other than fresh basil and salt & pepper, I wouldn’t add any other spices. I think Bertucci’s really puts emphasis on the tomatoes.

    Keep in mind, these are just guesses on my part. Anyone else want to weigh in?

  7. Oh! Wow its genuinely a humorous and jockey YouTube video posted at this juncture. thanks for sharing it.

Leave a Reply

