From the back of a soup can, straight into my heart

Now, this recipe I did not get from Mom. This one came from the back of a soup can – College Inn Light & Fat Free Chicken Broth to be exact. I still have the label.

The only break from the recipe I make is with the spinach. I use frozen spinach, which is not as easy, but allows me to keep the spinach on hand whenever I need it.

When it’s time to add the spinach, I just throw the frozen square in the middle of the skillet and flip it occasionally to melt the spinach down. This will take quite a while – probably about 15 minutes – but when the spinach is all broken up, it will taste exactly the same.

Actually, I’m not sure of that since I’ve never made it with real spinach. I should probably try that.

3 responses to “From the back of a soup can, straight into my heart

  1. Nuke the spinach on low power to defrost it, then squeeze it out in a strainer… works like a charm. The recipe looks quick and tasty; if I can break out of this kitchen funk I’m in, I’ll give it a whirl.

  2. Would you believe I’ve never tried that? Nuking the spinach would save at least 15-20 minutes.

    Now, if we can figure out how to make “nuke the spinach” a euphemism for something…

  3. It helps a lot. We used to wait ages for the stuff to defrost. The other thing, too, is that you’re probably diluting the flavor a little putting it straight in the pot like that, given how much water it’s packed with.

Leave a Reply

