RECIPE – Tomato Sauce

Ingredients

  • 1 32 oz. can Italian plum tomatoes (with basil leaf)
  • 1 medium onion
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • salt & pepper

Directions

Chop onion and saute slowly in olive oil. Halfway through, add sliced garlic. Cook onion and garlic until soft, but not browned.

Meanwhile, empty tomatoes into a pot and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer.

When onions and garlic are done, add them to the tomatoes and position a food mill over the now-emptied saucepan. Put tomato mixture through food mill and strain through.

Cook slowly for 15 minutes to an hour, depending on your taste. During last few minutes, add salt and pepper.

Read my observations.

2 responses to “RECIPE – Tomato Sauce

  1. Char in New Mexico

    I can’t find your recipe for that awesome looking pizza you have pictured. Will you send it to me or direct me to it?

    Char in New Mexico

  2. Hi Char, sorry it’s taken a while to get back to you. I don’t have a recipe for the pictured pizza, but it’s really easy to make. I start with some pizza dough (usually from Trader Joe’s, sometimes from a pizza shop near me) and then stretch it out to a somewhat round shape on a floured pizza board. Meanwhile I heat the oven to 420. I usually like to zap the crust for about 5 minutes before I ladle on some sauce and fresh mozzarella cheese. Another 5 – 10 minutes in the oven and you’re done!

    If I remember correctly, that pizza also has spinach and mushrooms. Easy stuff: heat up a little olive oil, throw in the veggies and let everything cook down. A little salt and pepper and you’re reading to toss it on the pizza. Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

