I’m bad at brownies

brownie.jpg

When someone doesn’t cook very well (or just doesn’t like to), they will still admit to being an expert at one or all of the following three things:

  1. cereal
  2. peanut butter & jelly sandwiches
  3. brownies

The implication, obviously, is that these three things are so easy to make, even people whose stove has never been turned on (“Where’s the defrost button?”) can put them together. So, I find it quite hilarious that I cannot for the life of me make a good batch of brownies.

I start off with the best of intentions and the exact ingredients called for on the box. I put the pan in the oven at the right temperature, for the right amount of time, and then… mush: it doesn’t cook through. If you watched the first season of Survivor, I’m like that professional chef that couldn’t make rice. Except, I’m not a professional chef, and I doubt I’ll ever need to survive by making brownies.

The whole problem may have something to do with my addition of massive quantities of chocolate chips to the batter, even when chips are already present. It’s part of the “there’s never enough chocolate” school of baking, taught to me by my mom.

So, while it may not always produce the best brownies, at least there’s more chocolate. And couldn’t we all use more chocolate in our lives?

One response to “I’m bad at brownies

  1. What size pan does the recipe call for? If it calls for a 9X9 and the brownies are coming out undone in the middle, maybe a 13X9 is in order? The chips probably aren’t helping matters much, at least from a texture standpoint. I know they can’t hurt the taste any.

Leave a Reply

