Top Philadelphia Restaurants I Haven’t Tried Yet (updated)

1. Vetri

Haven’t been there yet because… it’s too expensive, it’s only open like two days a week, and it encourages a chef’s menu that takes away precious control over what goes in my mouth.

2. Striped Bass

Haven’t been there yet because… it’s too expensive and it just closed.

3. Osteria

Haven’t been there yet because… it’s too new, too popular, and too north on Broad Street.

4. Buddakan

Haven’t been there yet because… it’s supposedly good for groups, but I don’t have a group that can really afford it.

5. Gayle

Haven’t been there yet because… I don’t know if I’m as adventurous as most people describe its food.

6. Supper

Haven’t been there yet because… I just heard about it and I’m not sure I’m in any rush at this point.

Been There, Done That

1. Mercato (BYOB) – TRIED

Haven’t been there yet because… it doesn’t take reservations and I only remember I want to go on weekends when the waits are the longest.

2. Django (BYOB) – TRIED

Haven’t been there yet because… its chef switch has garnered mixed reviews and the place is smaller than a matchbox.

3. Le-Bec FinTRIED

Haven’t been there yet because… it’s too expensive and that rich French food does a number on my guts.

4. Marigold Kitchen (BYOB) – TRIED

Haven’t been there yet because… it’s in West Philly and I don’t want to get shot.

5. RaeTRIED

Haven’t been there yet because… I only heard about it last month in Esquire.

6. Bindi (BYOB) – TRIED

Haven’t been there yet because… I’m afraid it won’t live up to my expectations of a Lolita-like Indian place.

* For more Philly restaurants I have tried, click here.

2 responses to “Top Philadelphia Restaurants I Haven’t Tried Yet (updated)

  1. wow. you’re reasons are the same reasons that i have for not having visited any of these places. basically: not wanting to get shot. but i really want to go to marigold kitchen & mercato. hey, i have my mace, we’ll be fine ๐Ÿ™‚

    others i want to go to:

    james
    august
    supper

  2. Hmmm, I’ll have to look into those.

    I was, however, lucky enough to get a gift card to Le Bec from my parents, and already have a reservation at Rae for the little lady’s graduation day.

    Now, if only the other eight would offer me free meals. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

