Chocolate Chip Perfection

Back in the day, my Aunt Dolly made THE BEST Toll House cookies. They were somehow both chewy and crumbly at the same time and just sweet enough to be completely addictive.

Until now, I’ve had little luck in replicating her success, even as the same recipe she used calls out tauntingly from every package of Toll House morsels I buy. And I buy quite a few.

Although I can’t be sure which of the following factors was responsible for my recent breakthrough, it probably had a lot to do with a certain extra presence in the kitchen:

  • My wife baked with me. Even though she likes to steal batter at every step in the process, I have to admit: she’s got the gift of mix. It probably helps that she doesn’t over-measure the ingredients, a mistake that I, as a member of the “more is awesome” school of baking, tend to make.
  • I defrosted the (unsalted) butter in the microwave. Not only do I now realize that butter is infinitely better than margarine in baking, I’m convinced that the consistency of the butter (i.e. softened, not melted) is the key.
  • We used small spoonfuls. Again, it was my wife who urged caution when I began dropping ice-cream-scoop sized portions onto the cookie sheet.

The result: some damn fine cookies. Maybe not as good at my aunt’s, but as close as I’m ever going to get.

Ahem… close as we’re ever going to get.

2 responses to “Chocolate Chip Perfection

  1. You’d be surprised how much of a difference that having your butter at room-temp makes when baking (or just cooking, for that matter). It’s like night and day; you hit the nail on the head.

    And I’m pretty sure that having your wife supervise was a wise move, too. Batter needs to be tested at every step in the process! 😉

  2. That’s funny, she said the exact same thing. Consider me a convert!

Leave a Reply

