Seared Salmon with New Potatoes and Dijon Broth

This is the first new recipe I’ve attempted in a while, and I was surprised by how tasty it turned out. You can see the Bon Appetit original in step-by-step format here.

I don’t want to rehash the whole thing, but I have some pictures of the cooking process, so let’s get to it. In the salmon searing stage, I made two lazy-man changes:

  1. I used vegetable oil instead of canola oil. I just don’t keep canola oil around and I can’t imagine it makes that much of a difference.
  2. I didn’t take the skin off the fish. Too much effort.

While the fish was frying, I started the potatoes. I don’t think I’ve cooked potatoes more than once or twice in my whole life – I’m a pasta man – and I was actually a little nervous that something would go wrong. Luckily, the potatoes didn’t explode and the kitchen was saved. (Thanks for asking.)

After throwing the fish and taters into a baking dish, I turned my attention to the broth. I made another substitution here – onions for shallots – that probably detracted from the dish. But I didn’t have shallots in the house, so onions were an easy sub. Are you sensing a pattern here?

Anyway, the rest of it went according to plan.

Into the oven everything went…

And 20 minutes later, it was just a matter of placing and ladling all the elements over sauteed spinach.

And that was it.

One word of warning: the dish is warm, comforting and very filling. Therefore, I would recommend waiting until the cold weather comes to try this one. I think you’ll thank me.

Leave a Reply

