Apple Cakes Abound

finished-apple-cake

Still trying to catch up on posts, as exemplified by apple dessert recipes that are going on two months old. That’s okay; they’re new to you, right?

The apple cake above was the second of two recipes I tried as I made my way through the last of the picked apples. It was also the more dramatic of the preparations, considering I used a 9″ cake pan to make a 10″ recipe. Lesson learned: don’t do that.

old-cakeBut before we get to the second, I wanted to introduce the first apple cake, the one that almost slipped into my culinary history undocumented. Luckily, I remembered to take a pic of a portion I brought to my folks. To your right is the cake in all its tupperware glory.

It may not look like much, but it was actually quite delicious. I found the recipe, as usual, through a Google search (keyword: best apple cake). Being the sucker for hyperbole that I am, I couldn’t not try the Best Apple Cake (in 47 Years of Cooking).

Did it live up to its title? Well, I haven’t been cooking for 47 years (yet), but it was certainly easy, sweet and full of appley goodness.

The only issue I had was with the glaze. While I can’t get enough of butter, cream and brown sugar, drizzling this concoction over an already-soft cake, made the dessert almost too moist. I know, I didn’t think that was possible either.

The second cake, while also moist, took a completely different approach to mixing apples and batter: it didn’t. But it looked a whole lot better, as you’ll see after the jump.

I’m not sure how I found the Super-Moist Apple Cake, but I think it was the picture that made me want to try it. Let’s face it, sometimes we just want to impress people, and although I didn’t impress my parents with my crisis-management skills the day I made it, there were definitely some oohs and ahhs the day it was served.

Anyway, like most good desserts, it starts off with the ritualistic beating of butter and sugar.

butter-sugar

Then you beats in the eggs (one at a time), and alternate adding the dry mix and the milk. Vanilla goes in last and mix until smooth, like so:

batter

Meanwhile (or after, if you don’t have a spare hand), slice up your apples.

apple-slices

And layer them in a vaguely spiral pattern on top of the batter (now dumped into a cake pan). I had more apples than I needed to cover the batter, so I just started spiraling a second time.

prebake-cake

Important: when a recipe says to use a 10″ cake pan, DO NOT substitute the 9″ pan you happen to have lying around. This is what happens:

oops

As you can see, the batter exploded from underneath the apples, pouring over the sides and all over the bottom of the oven, where it then burned and set off the smoke alarms. Only a quick intervention by mommy dearest, adding an aluminum foil lined cookie tray underneath the mess, saved the day.

By the way, the amount of sugar mixture the recipe asks that you sprinkle over the cake is WAY too much. I’d half that too. From my experience with apple cakes, this seems to be the way to go for any “last minute” add-on the recipe requests of you.

apple-cake-done

And here again is the final product, cooling on a rack. While it turned out nicely despite the in-oven disaster, I have to say, I enjoyed the taste of the other apple cake better. This one may have had a better “base cake” – very moist, very dense – but it was much less flavorful.

In the first cake, the apples were more seamlessly integrated. So far, I’d call that one my best apple cake in 9 years of cooking. Check back with me in 38 years for an update.

Leave a Reply

