Random Meal Roundup

bistro2

As you may have noticed, my posting frequency has taken a nosedive over the past few months. I won’t go into all the excuses, but I think this once-a-weekend schedule is probably going to be sticking around for a while.

Since I’m now doing a lot of quick hits on Twitter, I’m going to try to give you longer, more in-depth reads for the main site. That’s why I’m smushing together three separate meals into one amazing article (amazingness not guaranteed).

Let’s get started…

The Sidewalk Bistro (Piermont, NY)

A view from the patio

A view from the patio

Piermont is a cool little town right on the edge of the Hudson River. There’s a strip of land that runs deep into the river (although not deep enough to peer down to New York Ciy) where you can walk, fish or just take in the sights and sounds. And the town center is filled with all kinds of small stores, galleries and eateries. One of the best is the rejuvenated Sidewalk Bistro.

Formerly The Sidewalk Cafe, this French bistro has gone a bit more high-end with its cuisine, although it can still satisfy the burger and beer crowd. The spouse and I visited one beautiful weekend last month for a late brunch. Luckily, we snagged a prime spot in the backyard patio.

Though everything on the menu sounded delicious, with both ended up ordering eggs benedict. Hers substituted crab cake for the traditional bacon, while mine used smoked salmon. Although I’m a relative rookie when it comes to eggs benedict, this was certainly the best I’ve ever had. The eggs were perfectly poached and covered with just the right amount of  Hollandaise sauce. The small mixed green salad was a much more welcome side than homefries.

Their wine list is also excellent (befitting a good bistro), but unfortunately, we didn’t have room for dessert. That will change tonight when we return for a try at dinner.

Tlaquepaque (New Rochelle, NY)

I found this Mexican place a few weeks ago when I accompanied my folks to a Toyota buy-back event at a dealership in New Rochelle. Funnily enough, it actually occupies the same space that my grandfather’s favorite Italian restaurant once occupied: Del Ponte.

birriaNew Rochelle, like many other Westchester burbs, used to be dominated by Italian food. Now, as we looked around for a place for lunch, it was Mexican after Mexican after Mexican. I’m not complaining, mind you. Mexican is probably second only to Italian as my favorite kind of food.

Tlaquepaque may be unpronounceable to gringos like me, but the restaurant itself is a fairly traditional, simple operation. Our waiter (who on a slow Sunday was also the maitre d’ and manager) took very good care of our table, and even suggested the big winner of the meal: birria.

My dad choose this off-the-menu stew after we were alerted that the 3-4 hour prep process was just coming to a close. Later I learned that birria is traditionally prepared with goat meat, but this one had veal. The tender, off-the-bone meat was perfectly spiced with just enough kick to keep things lively. My dad, who is the least food-obsessed of our small family unit, simply inhaled the stuff, and I don’t blame him. It was that good.

My mom and I were also satisfied by our dishes – mine, carne asada, and hers, beef enchiladas. If you’re in the area, I highly encourage you to stop by.

Lucky’s Famous Burgers (Manhattan, NY)

luckysJust had this yesterday. Great stuff.

Although that’s not my picture up there, it might as well be. My lunch looked exactly the same, down to the two sauces and pocket-wrapped burger.

Even though I had the hankering for some beef, I was talked into getting a turkey burger. Not only was it delicious, but it looked like exactly what I’d imagine a 1950s hamburger would be: nice, spongy bun, perfectly sliced pickles, tomatoes and onion, crisp lettuce and a bit of ketchup on the underside. Oh, and I can’t forget the melted cheddar.

The accordion fries (what else would you call that shape?) were also tasty, although they’re best eaten quickly when crisp. If you leave them alone for a few minutes, they’ll quickly shrink and become tough.

The best parts of the lunch, however, were two little sauces. Man, were they good! The light pink stuff was great for dipping fries, and the darker stuff is what I always imagined “special sauce” would be. I think you could serve me grilled cardboard on a stick, as long as I could dip it one or both of these sauces.

Seriously.

2 responses to “Random Meal Roundup

  1. Speaking as the Dad in the Mexican restaurant
    article, what Michael says is true. The stew was tender, tasty and delicious. I highly recommend a visit to this place.

  2. How did the avatar-generator know my dad has a mustache?! Eerie.

Leave a Reply

