Buitoni Wild Mushroom Agnolotti

finished agnolotti

So, one day I came home to find a rather large box at the door.

agnolottiI opened it up, expecting to see a major award, only to find a styrofoam-insulated, ice-packed package of Buitoni Wild Mushroom Agnolotti sent to me from the good folks at Foodbuzz.

Though I was bit perturbed at the waste of packaging (the Al Gore in me screamed out in pain), I was just as excited to give these fresh pasta pillows a try.

I knew that I didn’t want to overpower the flavor of the stuffing, so tomato sauce wasn’t even considered. I  wanted something fairly simple, but also complementary to the pasta, and the peas and prosciutto idea (suggested by Foodbuzz) fit the bill. The only problem: my wife doesn’t eat pig.

A substitution of turkey bacon was made, and soon we were off and running. While the agnolotti were boiling, I browned up some butter (perhaps a bit too much of it) in a frying pan. butter and boiling

At the end of the cooking cycle for the pasta, I tossed in the frozen peas for a few minutes of boiling, before draining the whole deal.

draining

After letting the chopped bacon crackle a bit in the brown butter, I turned the gas down and threw in the peas and pasta for a nice ‘cook and coat.’

brown butter tossWith a few good tosses, it was ready for plating. I removed a good portion of agnolotti, peas and bacon (all coated with brown butter) to each plate, cracked some fresh pepper and sprinkled the shredded Grana Padano (a cousin of Parmigiano Reggiano) on top.

ag on plate

And there you go, absolute fantastic-ness. The best compliment I can pay to this pasta is that despite all the accouterments, the wild mushroom flavor really shone through. Buitoni certainly impressed me with this pasta, and I can’t wait to try a few of the other flavors they have.

In a word… bellisimo!

Leave a Reply

